Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Crossfades - Review and Rafflecopter



About Crossfades

Published by : Hydra (May 19, 2015)
Pages: 129

In a dark horror novella for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Dean Koontz, one unsuspecting man faces a mass murderer who’s turned the afterlife into his own terrifying playground.

Some men fear their own deaths. Others dream of peace and heaven. But Albert knows exactly what he wants: to be the lord of his own private hell, where his eternal reward will be torturing the souls of his victims. And he knows how to get it.

While Chuck’s dream of a promotion may be ordinary, his career is anything but. As a Recon and Enforcement Technician, Level II, at a mysterious organization known only as the Institute, Chuck spends his days rescuing souls that get trapped between this life and the next, caught in mini-hells known as crossfades.

Lydia has no dreams—only nightmares. There will be no awakening from the impossible realm of terror and pain where she’s trapped . . . unless Chuck tracks her down. But this rescue will not be easy, not for a mere Level II technician. Because, in this place, Albert is god. And he’s determined that none shall escape his wrath.


Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links



William Todd Rose writes dark, speculative fiction from his home in West Virginia. His short stories have been featured in numerous anthologies and magazines, and his work includes the novels Cry Havoc, The Dead & Dying, and The Seven Habits of Highly Infective People, and the novella Apocalyptic Organ Grinder. For more information on the author, including links to bonus content, please visit him online at www.williamtoddrose.com


My Thoughts

Chuck's life is pretty mundane and normal until he volunteers for a psychological study in college. Not long after he is contacted by an organization with a job offer that will change his life forever.  The catch is he can't tell anyone what he does for a living.

Now as a Recon and Enforcement Technician, Level II Chuck, with the help of his comatose partner,  rescues souls caught in the crossfades. While trying to rescue Lydia who is trapped in the space between life and death meets Albert who wants to create his own version of hell. In life Albert was a murder who was recently executed. Can Chuck defeat Albert and save Lydia?

Crossfades is a novella and only 116 pages but I was amazed at how much story the author packed into so few pages. I am always a little skeptical of books that compare themselves to the works of authors like King, Hill, Koontz and others but guess what? This story really came through and lived up to the claims. Well written, good character development and lots of chills. If you like horror give Crossfades a try. 

I'm definitely looking forward to reading the next book in the series, Bleedovers, which is coming September 1st. What threats will Chuck face next? Watch for my review.


a Rafflecopter giveaway



I received a copy of this book from the publisher through Net Galley. I have not been financially compensated for this review, all opinions are my own. 


Thursday, March 5, 2015

THE MAPPING OF LOVE AND DEATH - Review




About The Mapping of Love and Death

August 1914. As Michael Clifton is mapping land he has just purchased in California's beautiful Santa Ynez Valley, When war is declared in Europe, the young cartographer, duty-bound to his father's native country, soon sets sail for England to serve in the British army. Three years later, he is listed as missing in action.

April 1932. After Michael's remains are unearthed in France, his parents retain London psychologist and investigator Maisie Dobbs, hoping she can find the unnamed nurse whose love letters were among their late son's belongings. It is a quest that leads Maisie back to her own bittersweet wartime love and to the stunning discovery that Michael Clifton was murdered in his dugout. Suddenly an exposed web of intrigue and violence threatens to ensnare the dead soldier's family and even Maisie herself as she attempts to cope with the impending loss of her mentor and the unsettling awareness that she is once again falling in love.



About Jacqueline Winspear

Jacqueline Winspear is the author of the New York Times bestsellers Leaving Everything Most LovedElegy for EddieA Lesson in SecretsThe Mapping of Love and Death, Among the Mad, and An Incomplete Revenge, as well as four other national bestselling Maisie Dobbs novels. Her standalone novel, The Care and Management of Lies, was also a New York Times bestseller. She has won numerous awards for her work, including the Agatha, Alex, and Macavity awards for the first book in the series, Maisie Dobbs, which was also nominated for the Edgar Award for Best Novel and was a New York Times Notable Book.

Find out more about Jacqueline at her website, www.jacquelinewinspear.com, and find her on Facebook.


My Thoughts

First a look at how Maisie got her start.
Maisie Dobbs got her start as a maid in an aristocratic London household when she was thirteen. Her employer, suffragette Lady Rowan Compton, soon became her patron, taking the remarkably bright youngster under her wing. Lady Rowan's friend, Maurice Blanche, often retained as an investigator by the European elite, recognized Maisie’s intuitive gifts and helped her earn admission to the prestigious Girton College in Cambridge, where Maisie planned to complete her education.

The outbreak of war changed everything. Maisie trained as a nurse, then left for France to serve at the Front, where she found—and lost—an important part of herself. Ten years after the Armistice, in the spring of 1929, Maisie sets out on her own as a private investigator, one who has learned that coincidences are meaningful, and truth elusive.
Book Description from Maisie Dobbs (Maisie Dobbs Mysteries Book 1)

Maisie has come a long way since her first first case as a private investigator. Not only has she grown as a person but her intuitive and investigative skills have matured along with her. It is 1932 and she has been hired by the parents of Michael Clifton to investigate his death and to find the nurse whose love letters were found along with his other possessions. An easy enough job it seems until Michael's parents are the victims of an attack. It doesn't take long for Maisie to figure out that Michael was not killed in the line of duty but was murdered.

My fascination with the Maisie Dobbs' series is the way Jacqueline Winspear keeps the story moving while building up the mystery until the very end. If you enjoy historical fiction with a feisty heroine you will love Maisie Dobbs. The Mapping of Love and Death is book seven in the series but each book is a stand alone read. But you might want to take a look at the whole series.



Month of Maisie Readalong 

for Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs series

To celebrate the release of Jacqueline Winspear’s 11th novel in the Maisie Dobbs series,
A Dangerous Place,
TLC Book Tours is hosting a series blog tour during the month of March.

Tour Schedule:
March 2nd – 6th – The first nine books in the Maisie Dobbs series
March 9th – 13th – Leaving Everything Most Loved
March 16th – 20th – A Dangerous Place
 
 

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book for review purposes. I have not been financially compensated for my review, all opinions are my own. 


Friday, February 27, 2015

The Third Twin - Book Blast w/Rafflecopter





third TwinThe Third Twin by C.J. Omololu

When they were little, Lexi and her identical twin, Ava, made up a third sister, Alicia. If something broke? Alicia did it. Cookies got eaten? Alicia’s guilty. Alicia was always to blame for everything.

The game is all grown up now that the girls are seniors. They use Alicia as their cover to go out with boys who are hot but not exactly dating material. Boys they’d never, ever be with in real life.

Now one of the guys Alicia went out with has turned up dead, and Lexi wants to stop the game for good. As coincidences start piling up, Ava insists that if they follow the rules for being Alicia, everything will be fine. But when another boy is killed, the DNA evidence and surveillance photos point to only one suspect—Alicia. The girl who doesn’t exist.

As she runs from the cops, Lexi has to find the truth before another boy is murdered. Because either Ava is a killer . . . or Alicia is real.

add to goodreads

Praise:

"[An] original, riveting thriller." -- Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Made for You

"Delicious and deceptive, The Third Twin is a twisty-turny thrill ride! I couldn't flip the pages fast enough!" --Kimberly Derting, author of the Body Finder series and The Taking

"A classic whodunit."--Kirkus Reviews



CJCJ OMOLOLU is the author of the ALA-YALSA Quick Pick Dirty Little Secrets and several other YA novels. She loved to read but never thought to write until she discovered that the voices in her head often have interesting things to say. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband and their two sons.







50_Amazon_Paypal




$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash

Ends 3/19/15

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

 a Rafflecopter giveaway



Disclaimer: I have not been financially compensated for this post.