Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Bleedovers: A Dystopian Novella



About Bleedovers: A Dystopian Novella


Published by : Hydra (June 23, 2015)
Pages: 176 | ISBN: 978-1-101-88369-3
 
The hell ride that began in Crossfades continues with a vengeance in William Todd Rose’s Bleedovers—a dark horror novella in the tradition of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Dean Koontz.

There’s only one thing standing between humanity and the dark forces of the supernatural: the secret agency known as The Institute. The organization depends on regular guys like Chuck, a Level I Recon and Enforcement Technician who guides tormented spirits into the next life.

From an office deep underground, Chuck projects his spirit into Crossfades, monstrous realms where the souls of the dead, unable to move on due to fear or anger, devise macabre tortures for themselves and one another. He’s always been able to leave his work behind at the end of the day . . . until now.

First in dreams, then in waking nightmares, Crossfades are bleeding into the physical world. And now it’s up to Chuck—along with his partner, a woman named Control—to put a stop to it. Because there’s no telling what might come over from the other side.


Add to Goodreads badge

 

Purchase Links




Praise for William Todd Rose’s Apocalyptic Organ Grinder:
“With strong echoes of Richard Matheson’s I Am Legend, William Todd Rose’s Apocalyptic Organ Grinder delivers on all fronts. The action is brutal and the blurring of man and monster intelligently and inventively handled. Rose has written a smart thriller with a ton of heart.”—Joe McKinney, Bram Stoker Award–winning author of The Savage Dead and Inheritance
“The book just took me away. . . . The prose is beautiful.”—39 Purple Sunrises
“Dark, and definitely not fluffy . . . a no-holds-barred look at what may happen in the future.”—Mrs. Condit & Friends Read Books


About William Todd Rose

William Todd Rose writes dark, speculative fiction from his home in West Virginia. His short stories have been featured in numerous anthologies and magazines, and his work includes the novels Cry Havoc, The Dead & Dying, and The Seven Habits of Highly Infective People, and the novella Apocalyptic Organ Grinder. For more information on the author, including links to bonus content, please visit him online.


My Thoughts

Chuck is a Recon and Enforcement Technician, Level II who, with the help of his partner,  rescues souls caught in the crossfades. But Chuck's visits to the Crossfades which should normally be a dream like state is now becoming a nightmare as things start to bleed over into the real world. Can Chuck stop the mayhem before things get too out of hand?

Bleedovers is the sequel to Crossfades which I reviewed a few months ago. You can read my review HERE.  After reading the first novella I couldn't wait for Bleedovers to be available. While reading Crossfades first is recommended I do want you to know Bleedovers can be read as a stand alone story. Both are delightfully scary, creepy and generally great stories.



a Rafflecopter giveaway








Disclaimer: I received an ecopy of this book for review purposes, I have not been financially compensated for this review. All opinions expressed here are my own.

Thursday, June 18, 2015

Consumption - Review and Rafflecopter



About Consumption

Published by : Hydra (May 26, 2015)
Pages: 288

For fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Sarah Langan comes a thrilling new vision of American horror. In Heather Herrman’s heart-pounding debut novel, evil is ready to feed—and it’s got one hell of an appetite.

In the wake of tragedy, John and Erma Scott are heading west in search of a new life. So when car trouble strands them in sleepy Cavus, Montana, they decide to stay for a while, charmed by the friendly residents and the surrounding ambiance. Here, they hope, is the healing balm that their marriage needs.

Then John and Erma find themselves in a fight not just to save their marriage, but their very lives. For this is no ordinary town. Its quiet streets conceal a dark and bloody secret that has slumbered for centuries. Now, that secret is awake . . . and it’s hungry.

Like a slow infection, evil is spreading through Cavus. Soon John and Erma—along with the local sheriff, an undocumented immigrant, a traumatized teenage girl, and an old man with terrible secrets of his own—must join together to battle an all-consuming force that has set its sights on its prey: the entire human race.

“Both the evil that suffuses the pages of Consumption and the motley gang of innocents who defend against it are much more interesting than those usually found in your average scare fare. Solid writing elevates this imaginative fright-fest from an invigorating new voice.”—Sophie Littlefield, bestselling author of the Aftertime series


Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links




About Heather Herrman

Heather Herrman explores American society through horror fiction. She holds an MFA from New Mexico State University, and her work has appeared in such publications as Alaska Quarterly Review, The South Carolina Review, and Snake Nation Review. Herrman’s fiction has also been honored with a Frank Waters Fiction Prize and a scholarship to the Prague Summer Program for Writers.

Connect with Heather

 

Website | Facebook | Twitter

 

My Thoughts

A recent tragedy has left John and Erma's marriage in shambles. Now they are heading west to try and put the past behind and find a new start. But as we all know the road to new beginnings can be rough. In this case car trouble brings their journey to an abrupt halt. They land in a seemingly charming town in Montana and decide to stay awhile. But a deep evil lurks beneath the surface of this quiet little town.

Cavus has a history and many traditions. Now do I really have to tell you that I was completely floored when I learned this little town was planning a festival to celebrate ...... black squirrels? You'll have to read the story to find out more.

But back to the main story. The local sheriff has been dealing with deaths and disappearances among the town folk and he is baffled. But things are going to get even stranger. At this time imagine, if you will, what would happen if Stephen King rewrote The Walking Dead and gave it a special twist.

As the story plays out we meet a lot of different characters who develop into their proper roles, some good and some bad, before the final battle. In the end it is this odd mix of misfits who will fight not only to save themselves but all of humanity.

In Consumption, Heather Herrman has woven a tale sure to please all true fans of horror. I will be looking forward to her next foray into this genre.



a Rafflecopter giveaway






Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in ebook format for review purposes. I have not been financially compensated, all opinions are my own. 


Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Crossfades - Review and Rafflecopter



About Crossfades

Published by : Hydra (May 19, 2015)
Pages: 129

In a dark horror novella for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Dean Koontz, one unsuspecting man faces a mass murderer who’s turned the afterlife into his own terrifying playground.

Some men fear their own deaths. Others dream of peace and heaven. But Albert knows exactly what he wants: to be the lord of his own private hell, where his eternal reward will be torturing the souls of his victims. And he knows how to get it.

While Chuck’s dream of a promotion may be ordinary, his career is anything but. As a Recon and Enforcement Technician, Level II, at a mysterious organization known only as the Institute, Chuck spends his days rescuing souls that get trapped between this life and the next, caught in mini-hells known as crossfades.

Lydia has no dreams—only nightmares. There will be no awakening from the impossible realm of terror and pain where she’s trapped . . . unless Chuck tracks her down. But this rescue will not be easy, not for a mere Level II technician. Because, in this place, Albert is god. And he’s determined that none shall escape his wrath.


Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links



William Todd Rose writes dark, speculative fiction from his home in West Virginia. His short stories have been featured in numerous anthologies and magazines, and his work includes the novels Cry Havoc, The Dead & Dying, and The Seven Habits of Highly Infective People, and the novella Apocalyptic Organ Grinder. For more information on the author, including links to bonus content, please visit him online at www.williamtoddrose.com


My Thoughts

Chuck's life is pretty mundane and normal until he volunteers for a psychological study in college. Not long after he is contacted by an organization with a job offer that will change his life forever.  The catch is he can't tell anyone what he does for a living.

Now as a Recon and Enforcement Technician, Level II Chuck, with the help of his comatose partner,  rescues souls caught in the crossfades. While trying to rescue Lydia who is trapped in the space between life and death meets Albert who wants to create his own version of hell. In life Albert was a murder who was recently executed. Can Chuck defeat Albert and save Lydia?

Crossfades is a novella and only 116 pages but I was amazed at how much story the author packed into so few pages. I am always a little skeptical of books that compare themselves to the works of authors like King, Hill, Koontz and others but guess what? This story really came through and lived up to the claims. Well written, good character development and lots of chills. If you like horror give Crossfades a try. 

I'm definitely looking forward to reading the next book in the series, Bleedovers, which is coming September 1st. What threats will Chuck face next? Watch for my review.


a Rafflecopter giveaway



I received a copy of this book from the publisher through Net Galley. I have not been financially compensated for this review, all opinions are my own.